Staff Banner



Boarding Houses 

Lodge: CE Sharp, MEng (Sheffield), Mathematics * 

Tower: AJ Gunn, BSc (Loughborough), Head of RS and Psychology 

Bellerby: LJ Dawson, BA (London), PGCert Boarding Education (Roehampton), English 


Day Houses 

Newlands: HT Stevens, CertHE in Education Studies (Canterbury Christchurch), Head of Hockey 

Deacon: GO Jones MBE, BSc (Hertfordshire), Business Studies, Finance, Games 

Laing: KE Barwell, BSc (Kent), PhD (Kent), Chemistry 

Clifford: AN Humphrys, BA (Westminster), English 


Kirby Houses 

Cameron: EJ Young, BA (Chichester), Head of Drama 

Courtenay: MA Ravenwood, BSc (Kent), PgDip (CCCU), Head of Mathematics 

Kirby Boarding: GL Owen, BMus (Birmingham), PGDip (GSMD), MA (London), Assistant Director of Music and Head of PSHE 


*  OL – former pupil of SLC

Junior School Leadership Team

E Rowe, Head, PSHE

R J Perry, Deputy Head, Key Stage 2 Co-ordinator, Maths

S Peskett, Head of Pre-Prep & Reception Form Teacher (All subjects)

K Danes, SENDCo, Forest School Leader, KS2 Maths, Geography

Junior School Staff

Teaching Staff

A J Mackman, Year 6M Form Teacher (English, Art)

C Brown, Year 6B Form Teacher Mental Health and Wellbeing Lead, Geography and History Lead

C J Durrant, 3T Form Teacher, Girls’ Games Co-Ordinator (English, TLS, Geography)

C L Adams, Year 1 Form Teacher (All subjects) English Lead (Quality Mark)

C Whiteley, Year 2 Form Teacher (All subjects) Maths Lead (Quality Mark)

D C Baxter, KS2 Science

E W Herbert, Year 4 Form Teacher (Maths, English, Geography, History, TLS, ICT). Maths Lead (Quality Mark)

H Caddick, JS Director of Music (all years)

H Shaw, French Teacher (all years)

G E Lasslett, Year 6M Form Teacher (English, Geography, ICT, TLS)

J A Marsh, Year 5 Form Teacher + Head of PE & Boys’ Games (Rec, KS1 & 2)

J Goodwin-Hudson, Chaplin, RS

J M Stone, Year 5 Form Teacher (Maths, English, ICT, Geography, History,). English Lead (Quality Mark)

K J Mayo, Year 3M Form Teacher (Science, Maths, English, History, RS, Geography, TLS, ICT)

R D Turner, Year 3T Form Teacher (Science, Maths, English, Art)

R J Brown, Head of Nursery

S Briggs, Games

Cover Teaching Staff

M L Rolfe, Prep Cover Teacher

Teaching Support Staff

A Watkins Prep Teaching Assistant

J L Jacqueline Burne, Swimming Coach

J E Lawn, Pre-Prep Teaching Assistant

J H Cox, Prep Teaching Assistant

K Balcombe, Teaching Assistant & Pre-Prep lunch-time Supervisor & After School Care Provider

L A Rhodes, Pre-Prep Teaching Assistant

N L Radford, Nursery Practitioner

S T Stiff, Pre- Prep Teaching Assistant

Support Staff

A Mullin, Assistant Boarding House Mother

A Cassidy, Gap Tutor

H S Sims, School Secretary & PA to the Head

H West, Thursday morning Assistant House Mother

J S Grogan, Administrative Assistant

L M O Morgan, Boarding House Mother

S Vaughan, Gap Tutor

Senior School Leadership Team

Head of College: BG Durrant, MA (Nottingham), BA Hons (UCL) 

Bursar and Clerk to the Governors: JA Connelly, MA (Kings College, London), MBS (Open University) BEng, CEng, MIET 

Deputy Head (Pastoral): T Moulton, BA (Leeds), History 

Deputy Head (Academic): BR Pennells, BA (Leeds), French and Spanish 

Assistant Head (Pastoral): E Matthews, BA, (UWE Bristol), MCCT, Drama 

Assistant Head (Academic): KB Parker, BA (Manchester Polytechnic), Head of Design Technology 

Director of External Relations: JM Ganderton-Smith, CIM, CELTA

Chaplain: The Revd AJP Goodwin-Hudson, BSc (Southampton Solent), BA (Middlesex), MSc (Liverpool), Religious Studies 

Senior School Staff

FD Al-Hajjaj, BSc (Kent), Biology 

FT Ali, BA, BEd (Trent University, Canada), Biology 

JDJ Bowyer, MusB (Manchester), GRNCM, FRCO, Director of Music 

H Brewer-Miles, BSc, MA, Trainee Teacher of Mathematics – BSc (Brunel University), MA (King’s College London) 

SA Briggs, BEd (Madeley College of Physical Education), AEN, Games 

GS Briscoe, BSc (Bristol), Geography 

AR Brogdon OLY, BA (Leeds Metropolitan), Elite Performance Director 

CJ Brown, BA (Exeter), Head of Economics and Business Studies 

OC Cackett, BSc (Canterbury Christchurch), Science, Games 

DA Caines, Cert Ed, Dip Counselling Skills, Dip Special Needs, Head of AEN 

RJ Castle, CELTA, PGDip TESOL (Canterbury Christchurch), Head of EAL 

KL Chidlow, BA (University of Wales, Swansea), English 

SJ Clark, BEd (De Montfort), Head of Academic PE 

AE Coe, BA (Hull), History 

SB Coxon, BSc, HDE (Rhodes University), Mathematics 

KSO Chopping, BA (Canterbury Christchurch), French 

TB Cupido, BA (South Africa), PTD (Hewat Teacher College), BSc Fitmast (Western Cape), BEd (South Africa), Biology 

C Curnow, BA (Kingston), Art 

ER Dickinson, BA (Kingston), Head of English 

C Dyal, BA (CCCU), Photography and Art 

SE Flory, Cert Ed (London), Dip Adaptive Physical Education (Kent), AEN 

JA Gale, MA (Oxon), Latin and French 

PS Griffiths, BA (Brighton), Design Technology 

NEP Hill, BSc (Surrey), Geography, CCF 

NA Hodge, BA (BIAD), Head of Art 

AJ Izzard, BA QTS (Chichester), Director of Sport 

NS Jackson, BEd (Argentina), MA (University of South Wales), Head of Modern Foreign Languages 

TDA Jameson, BA (Leicester), Head of Geography 

OG Jones, BA (London), English, EAL 

HL Judd, BSc (Nottingham), Mathematics 

E Kouthouri, BSc (National & Capodistrian University of Athens), Head of Science 

JS Lane, BA (Kent), MSc (Canterbury Christchurch), Business Studies 

NJ Macaulay, BA (Portsmouth), AEN 

FE McGrath, BA (Leicester), Mathematics 

SL Moody, BA (Kent), English 

DA Nicholls, MPharm (Bath), PhD (Reading), Chemistry 

GL Owen, BMus (Birmingham), PGDip (GSMD), MA (London), Assistant Director of Music and Head of PSHE 

JM Rawbone, BA (Leeds), PGDipAS (Sheffield Hallam), PGCert & PGSpLD (Canterbury Christchurch), AEN  *

DB Ronder, MA (Edinburgh), EAL 

AE Ross, BA (London), Drama, Media Studies 

DJ Scoins, BA (Kent), Head of History 

EL Senyega, Dip Psych & Foundations of Educ (UCC, Ghana), Mathematics 

SM Simmons, BSc (Portsmouth), Assistant Director of Sport, Head of Cricket 

MC Thompson, BA (London), Mathematics 

KE Tomes, Modern Foreign Languages, BA (UCL) MA (UCL) 

LM Vinson, BSc (Sussex), Psychology 

SA Wilde, BSc (Bristol), Head of Chemistry 

RB Wilkening, BA (London), MA (Kent), Head of ICT 

E Young, BSc (Manchester), Physics 


PA to the Head of College: VJT Mills, * 

College Administration Manager: AL Jennings 

Academic Administrator: HE Bradley 

College Admistration Assistant: AV Fisher 

Exams Officer and Educational Visits Co-Ordinator: KE Pocock 

Science Technician: CM Kear 

Science Tecnician: L Collard 

Design Technology Technician: JP Claustres 

Theatre and IT Technician: P O’Callaghan, * 

Senior IT Technician: AP Plant 

IT Technician: JJ Ivanova 


*  OL – former pupil of SLC

Bursary Management Staff

Assistant Clerk to the Governors and PA to the Bursar: LJ Cleaver 

College Accountant: S Jain 

Senior Accounts Assistant: SP Dock 

Commercial Manager: H Heath-Hall 

Customer Service Manager: JE Hills 

Compliance and Project Management: S Cowdery 

Support Operations Manager: T Flower 

ICS Manager: SD Kirby 

HR Manager: DA Myers 

Marketing, Admissions and Development Staff

Director of External Relations: JM Ganderton-Smith


Head of Admissions: NEL Young 

Admissions Officer: C Beynon * 

Admissions Officer: CV Jones  

Admissions Officer (Junior School): HL Balcombe


Head of Marketing & Development: NC Dimmock

External Relations Officer: C Tyler

Marketing Officer: RL Brun Cialis



 * OL – former pupil of SLC

Medical Staff

Sister in Charge of Medical Centre: G Goodwin, RGN, Registered Nurse – Children

K Saunders, RGN

J A Sullivan, RGN

S Wilson, RGN BSc Hons Medical Officers

Dr S Goldberg, BSc, MB, BS, MRCGP


“The school is successful in providing opportunities for pupils of all abilities to gain academic success and develop their individual talents.”

ISI Inspection Report 2015